Special Weapons And Tactics

SWAT LogoThe Norman Police Department’s Special Weapons and Tactics Team (SWAT) is a multi-jurisdictional Team made up of mostly Norman Police Department Officers. However, the Team also has members that come from OUPD. The SWAT Team has been in existence since 1974.

Officers of this multi-jurisdictional team are highly motivated and strong in their tactical discipline. We understand that no one person completes this team. It is a combined effort of individuals working together in cooperation for a common goal. That goal is to be the best SWAT Team this state has to offer and to provide the highest level of service to the citizens of Norman.

The Team is divided up into four different elements made up of 36 Team members. Each element has its own Team Leader and Assistant Team Leader.


Captain Todd Gibson

Assistant Commander

Lt. Tony Riddles

•           Entry Element

            Red Team Leader = Lt. Robertson

            Blue Team Leader = Lt Wishon

•           Marksman/Sniper Element

            Sniper Team Leader  = Sgt. Morgan

•           Negotiations Element

            Negotiations Team Leader = Sgt. Heath

•           Tactical Medic Element

            Tactical Medic Team Leader = Capt. Sean Lauderdale

            SWAT Team Doctor = Doctor Patrick Cody